-

Icelandic inspiration

I’ve spent last two weeks by travelling in Iceland. My dolls had to stay at home but I’ve found a lot of sewing (and knitting and crocheting and embroidery) inspiration at Textile Museum in Blönduós. They have a nice collection of traditional Icelandic women’s national costumes which are really interesting. You can even touch them if you wear a pair of white gloves you get at the entrance.

Love the embroidery and brooches and headpieces and… I wish to become a wealthy patroness and collect national costumes of every nation in the world. I would be the real clothing, of course, not a flea market costume, in a public access exhibition space. There will be display cases with UV-protection in the room, of course, I don’t want the sun or any bored children or selfie sticks messing my artifacts.

“In preparing for battle, I have always found that plans are useless but planning is indispensable.” Dwight D. Eisenhower, 1960

Okay, let’s get wealthy first. 🙂

Leave a Reply

