Merida the Brave

Merida the Brave: dress construction

The deadline for this photo challenge has been extended – lucky me! I was very busy in the past weeks. I’d like to share with you my construction process of Merida’s dress for Alexandra.

Merida dress for a BJD

Drawing the pattern. I used a suede-like non-stretchy dark blue fabric for the dress and a calico for the “underdress”.

Merida dress for a BJD

My first pattern. It showed to be too loose around Sashenka’s waist but the change was minimal. Front and back parts are identical except the fastening on the back and a lacing on the front.

Merida dress for a BJD

Sleeves with the inserted calico stripes. I chose not to make a full underdress because it is not very pragmatic to add more layers to a such small project like doll clothes.

Merida dress for a BJD

The neckline pinned at its place.

Are you curious how will this turn out? I surely am!

Leave a Reply

